News & Publications

2017 Annual Dinner & Business Awards Ceremony

"Thursday, January 19, 2017 - Chico >> Celebrating 79 years serving businesses and the community, the Chico Chamber of Commerce enjoyed its annual dinner and awards ceremony Thursday at Sierra Nevada Brewing Co. Before a sold­out crowd, a variety of chamber members and nonmembers were honored for their actions supporting Chico. The awards were kept secret until the last part of the evening. The Community Service Award was delivered to Chico builder Pat Conroy of Conroy Construction. Business Advocate of the Year was presented to Mark Francis of Golden Valley Bank. The J. Pat Lappin Award for Business Excellence was given to the late Gary Sitton of Chico State University and accepted by his widow Judy Sitton and daughter Holly Sitton. The Jeanne Posey Business Woman of the Year went to Valerie Reddemann of HeroCMO. The Ambassador of the Year was Brett Sanders of Farmers Insurance (Brad Jacobson office). The Young Professional of the year was Brooke Smith of Courtyard & Residence Inn by Marriott. The Chairman’s Award was given to Chico Police Chief Mike O’Brien. The Gavel Plaque went to 2016 Chair Toni Scott of Morrison & Co. The Business and Professional Advancement Scholarship was presented to Chico State University student Samuel Brenden­Rohde. The Ted Hubert Memorial Scholarship recipient was Chico High School student Rosalie Thomas. Chamber CEO Katie Simmons noted that 2017 is a special year for the business organization, which will mark 110 years of existence. On the website, Simmons notes, “Though the organization was not incorporated until the 1930s, the earliest known records of business owners meeting to discuss common issues date back to 1907. This enduring legacy is testament to the people who have kept the organization vibrant and relevant for over a century, and to the members who have kept the chamber strong, many of whom are celebrating 80+ years of membership today.” The evening marked the installation of the 2017 officers, including board Chair Rick Anderson, a senior manager for YP; chair­elect Anastacia Snyder of Catalyst Domestic Violence Services; first vice chair Michelle Niven of Allevity HR & Payroll; and treasurer Karli Olsen of K­Coe Isom."

Click here to download the PDF copy of the above ChicoER article.